November 24, 2022
11 11 11 AM
Breaking News :
FireNews : Iran protests: UN fact-finding mission to investigate crackdown #FireNews365 FireNews : Australia: How ‘bin chickens’ learnt to wash poisonous cane toads #FireNews365 FireNews : Binance deploys $1 billion to keep crypto industry afloat after FTX collapse #FireNews365 FireNews : Mercedes-Benz to introduce acceleration subscription fee #FireNews365 FireNews : Cameroon’s Song sings the praises of Swiss striker #FireNews365 FireNews : Algeria fires: Dozens sentenced to death for lynching #FireNews365 FireNews : CEO of $4.5 billion tech firm slams his peers over layoffs: ‘These are humans’ #FireNews365 FireNews : Chaotic scenes as Sierra Leone lawmakers brawl #FireNews365 FireNews : Embolo gives Swiss opening win over Cameroon #FireNews365 FireNews : Kenya looks to avoid doping ban by World Athletics #FireNews365

FireNews : Kipruto & Yehualaw win first London Marathons #FireNews365

Kenya’s Amos Kipruto and Ethiopia’s Yalemzerf Yehualaw won their maiden London Marathon titles with breakaway victories in the elite men’s and women’s races.

Just six months after making her debut over the distance, 23-year-old Yehualaw finished in two hours, 17 minutes and 26 seconds – the third fastest women’s London Marathon time in history.

Kipruto then won the men’s race in two hours, four minutes and 39 seconds after pushing away from the rest of the field with about five kilometres to go.

Ethiopia’s Leul Gebresilase was second, crossing the line 33 seconds later, with Bashir Abdi of Belgium completing the podium.

With four miles to go in the women’s race, Yehualaw broke clear of a group of four with the chasing 2021 champion Joyciline Jepkosgei of Kenya unable to reel her in.

That breakaway included an astonishing 4:43 mile split on mile 24.

Jepkosgei finished second, 41 seconds back, with Ethiopian Alemu Megertu placing third.

Rose Harvey was the top-placed British athlete in 10th position, while in the men’s race, Weynay Ghebresilasie and Phil Sesemann were ninth and 10th respectively.

Earlier, Marcel Hug and Catherine Debrunner set new course records as they completed an all-Swiss sweep of the wheelchair titles.

Four-time champion Hug defended his 2021 crown in one hour, 24 minutes and 38 seconds, holding off a late overtake attempt by American Daniel Romanchuk.

Great Britain’s David Weir – making his 23rd consecutive London Marathon appearance – was third.

Debrunner won her first London title in one hour, 38 minutes and 24 seconds.

This year’s London Marathon marks the third and final time it will take place in October – moved because of the Covid-19 pandemic – with the race returning to its traditional spring date in 2023.

The races were officially started by England’s Euro 2022 champions Leah Williamson, Ellen White and Jill Scott – the latter no stranger to the event after winning the Mini Marathon back in 2001.

Looming rail strikes and a string of high-profile withdrawals – including Mo Farah and women’s world record holder Brigid Kosgei – hit the marathon in race week, while Britain’s Charlotte Purdue was one of several athletes to pull out on Sunday morning through illness.

But with the forecasted rain holding off, some 42,000 runners have taken to the streets of London for the 26.2 mile route from Greenwich to the finish line on the Mall, in front of Buckingham Palace.

Paying tribute to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II following her death in September, the British Army Band played the national anthem prior to the start of the elite men’s race and mass start.

Source link